How to Deactivate Last Active Status in Instagram

People are connected through social media platforms today. These platforms are reliable as they are designed to send instant messages. Just like Facebook and Whatsapp, Instagram is another social media platform which was primarily designed to share pictures and videos, but later it became another app for real-time chats. Even though, the main feature of Instagram is still maintained where photos and the videos of the users you follow will appear in your feed. But, apart from it, Instagram is becoming more convenient and well grounded.

Like Facebook Messenger and WhatsApp, Instagram has rolled out another feature called “Activity Status” to enable or disable last seen from the settings section. This amazing feature was expected from the company, hence it is not surprising. As the app used to show last activity by default, now a user can turn it off. With some simple steps, you can hide the “last seen” in Instagram. The settings are a bit different for Android and iOS.

In Android

  1. Open Instagram app and tap on your profile.
  2. Tap on the three dots on the top right corner of the display to open settings.
  3. Now scroll down to Activity Status option and tap on it.
  4. As the last seen is enable by default. To turn it off, tap on the toggle button right next to it to enable or disable.
  5. Now the last seen of your [profile is hidden.

Note: Remember that the feature does not hide last seen instantly. If you have turned it off, then remove the app from recent apps and re-open the app.

In iOS

  1. Open Instagram app and tap on your profile.
  2. Now you will see the settings icon at the top right corner of the display. Tap on the icon.
  3. In the Privacy and Security section, you will see Activity Status. Tap on the option.
  4. Tap on the toggle button to enable or disable last seen.

Don’t forget that you will not be able to see the “last seen” of any user while you have disabled your “last seen.” If you enable “last seen” then others will be able to see when you were active on the app while you were able to see the last seen of the users’ follow or message you.

Harry Williams is a self-professed security expert; he has been making the people aware of the security threats. His passion is to write about Cyber security, cryptography, malware, social engineering, internet and new media. He writes for Norton security products at norton.com/setup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *